Tags

, , ,

365 Days of Writing Prompts

While the rest of the nation has been setting record cold temperatures, the west coast has been hovering around 70 degrees.  We have not seen a hint of rain in months.  We have watched as storms came in from the Pacific only to be turned upward and northward around us.  Nearby Lake Shasta was looking more like a series of rivers and streams.  The dust was collecting on everything.  I was missing my rain boots.  I wanted to be cool again.

When I looked through my window this morning, I couldn’t have been more pleased.  The rain has finally returned to my Northern California home.  The temperature is a lot closer to normal for January.  The air smells fresh and clean.  In fact, everything seems much cleaner and calmer to me this morning.  I think I’m relieved.

First I could see the grill, wet and shiny with the fresh rain. The rain has slithered down around its bottom half. The underside is still dry.  Despite heavy use, the dry season had coated the large cylindrical, steel beast in a heavy coating of dust.  The dust is gone now.  The temperature gauge is visible through the small glass window.  The wooden shelves attached to the front and one side are dark with moisture.

Behind the grill, a tree is stands tall, nearly bare of its oak leaves.  The leaves have gathered on the ground around the base of the tree. They are now matted and slick looking.  This tree will probably suffer from the lack of rain this year.

Around the yard, dark, damp garden soil sits in now unused planters.  The tops of them are clean other than a few stray leaves and acorns.  They will be filled again in the springtime.  Of course, the drought plaguing our western state will have to fully lift before that can happen.

So we have finally found relief from our hot temperatures and lack of rain.  I don’t know how long it will last, but I’m hoping it will make up for what we haven’t had already.

